Valerie Lund – Biography

Written by Professor Valerie Lund

Valerie Lund is Professor Emeritus of Rhinology at the Ear Institute, University College London and is an Honorary Consultant ENT Surgeon at the Royal National Throat Nose and Ear Hospital (University College London Trust), University College Hospital. She deals with all nose and sinus conditions with a particular interest in sinonasal tumours and has been involved in endoscopic sinus surgery and its extended applications since the early 1980’s. She has contributed extensively to the literature with 36 books and monographs, 86 chapters and over 320 peer-reviewed papers and has lectured widely, delivering 19 eponymous lectures, including the Semon, Stirk Adams, Stell and Wilde lectures in the last 5 years. She has received several prizes including the George Davey Howell (1990, 2008, 2015), W J Harrison (Royal Society of Medicine 2012), BMA Book awards and Jobson Horne Prize (2018) . She is the only non-American editor of ‘Cummings Otorhinolaryngology’ and her most recent book, ‘Tumors of the Nose, Paranasal Sinuses and Nasopharynx’ was published by Thieme in April 2014.

She has received a number of international awards and prizes, is an Honorary Member of the Belgian, Bulgarian, Danish, Dutch, German, Greek, Irish, Spanish, Romanian, Russian and South African ENT societies. She became a member of the Collegium-ORLAS in 1990 and the American Triologic in 1991. She was awarded the Sir Arthur Sims Commonwealth Professorship in 2002, a joint appointment by the Royal College of Surgeons and Physicians of Australia and New Zealand, Canada, England and South Africa. She was made the 1st Snyderman International Ambassador for the American Academy of Otorhinolaryngology, Head & Neck Surgery in 2011 and was the guest speaker at the launch of Women in Rhinology at the American Rhinologic Society in 2016.

She has held a number of national and international administrative posts including the Chief Editorship of ‘Rhinology’ (2004-14), General Secretary of the European Rhinologic Society (2008-16), is a Co-Chairman of the European Academy of Allergy & Clinical Immunology Taskforce on Rhinosinusitis (EPOS) and Vice President of the European Academy of ORL-HNS. She was an elected member of the Council of the Royal College of Surgeons of England from 1995 to 2006, was Chairman of the Intercollegiate Examination Board in Otolaryngology until 2007, President of the Section of Laryngology & Rhinology, Royal Society of Medicine in 2009 and chaired Women in Surgical Training (WIST) for the UK twice (1997-9&2004-5).

In 2008 she was awarded a CBE (Commander of the British Empire) for services to medicine in the Queen’s New Year Honours and in 2009 was elected to the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. She was President of the British Association of Otorhinolaryngology and Vice-President of the Federation of Surgical Specialities for the United Kingdom (2012-15). She was awarded an honorary Doctorate of Medicine from the Universities of Brighton and Sussex for services to medicine and to women in surgery in July 2016 and in September 2017 was made an Honorary Member of the International Rhinologic Society and an Honorary Fellow of the American College of Surgeons. In 2018 she has been co-President of the biennial European Rhinologic Society Congress at which she was made an Honorary Member. She will also be ‘Master’ of the triennial British Academic Conference in Otolaryngology, in 2018. Hobbies include archaeology, cooking and eating.